All-girls VALORANT tournament “FTW Summer Showdown” confirmed on Sept. 12

all-girls-valorant-tournament

Heads up, Valorant girl gamers! Do you have what it takes to dominate?

FTW Summer Showdown, an all-ladies Valorant tournament, will take place on September 12.

Collaboration

The FTW (For The Women) Summer Showdown is a collaboration between G FUEL, Nerd Street Gamers, Spectacor Gaming, and T1 which will pit the best all-women teams in Valorant against each other.

For the winners, a prize pool of $10,000 will be up for grabs.

Burgeoning eSports scene

The Valorant eSports scene is only getting bigger in 2020. Riot Games themselves have supported third-party tournaments, with some of the biggest eSports organizations already fielding competitive teams of their own.

FTW, for one, aims to give a chance for all-women teams to show their in-game skills on Valorant. Seven professional rosters and an amateur team are

confirmed to participate through a qualifier.

How to watch?

The tournament is scheduled on September 12. If you’re interested to watch, check out the live broadcast on the Nerd Street Gamers Twitch Channel at 12:00 PM (PT) / 3:00 PM (ET) / 8:00 PM (BST).

However, a qualifier will take place before the official livestream to determine who gets the remaining eighth spot.

All-girls Valorant teams are welcome to join, and may still register. Take note of the qualifier right on Saturday, September 5 at 3:15 PM (PT) / 6:15 PM (ET) / 11:15 PM (BST), though.

The FTW x Nerd Street Gamers Showdown Qualifier is described as:

“Nerd Street Gamers is excited to partner up with GALorants for an all-women’s Valorant tournament qualifier. The winning team of the qualifier will earn the final slot available at the FTW Summer Showdown, a $10,000 female-only tournament sponsored by T1 and G FUEL taking place on Saturday, September 12th. This tournament is NA only.”

This all-female Valorant tournament boasts a prize pool of $1,000 as well.

Event format

Eight teams will be split into two groups, with the two winning teams from each group advancing to the Playoffs.

The Playoffs will then be played in a single-elimination bracket to decide the ultimate champion.

Single-elimination matches means there‘s no second chances— if your team loses a match, you can kiss the championship title goodbye.

The story behind FTW

“For The Women” is an initiative by Spectacor Gaming designed to support the growth of women’s presence in esports, through competition as well as creative content.

Spectacor Gaming Communications Manager, Kelsey Rowley, says in a statement:

“The whole mission of FTW is to get women together across all sectors of esports to pave the way for the next generation of gamers,”

Valorant has been chosen as the tournament’s game because of its current hype and traction in the gaming community. However, different games may also be featured in FTW tournaments in the future.

Paige Funk of Nerd Street Gamers says:

“The hype for Valorant is so big across the entire industry, and it’s such a badass game… I think it’ll showcase some badass female talent.”

Gfuel, although announced as a sponsor for the FTW event, will also feature five ambassadors to partake in the competition.

According to G FUEL’s CEO Cliff Morgan:

“Spectacor Gaming and Nerd Street Gamers have been leading a powerful initiative to elevate women in gaming, and we’re honored to support their efforts as a partner of their first FTW tournament. We’re looking forward to a memorable event and milestone for women gamers.”

Rundown

  • Date: Saturday, September 5th, 2020
  • Registration Deadline: Friday, September 4th, 2020 8:59PM PST / 11:59PM EST
  • Time: 12:00PM PST, 3:00PM EST
  • Cost: FREE
  • Scaling Prize Pot: $1,000 split top 3, 1st place Invite to TBA Tournament

Read the official rules and regulations of the event here.

Share This

More To Explore